Recently I tweeted that I would like to be in Manhattan enjoying breakfast. The breakfast I had in mind cannot be explained adequately in just 140 characters, so here’s a blog entry about it instead.

It’s actually based on a real-life breakfast I enjoyed in October 2008 at the Tick Tock Diner in Midtown Manhattan. It’s a neon-coloured restaurant based underneath the New Yorker hotel and serves breakfast 24 hours a day, 7 days a week – perfect for a breakfast fanatic like me.

The breakfast I had in mind when I sent that tweet was literally an egg-stravaganza. Yes that’s a weak pun, but there are lots of eggs in the breakfast so I think it deserves it.

Anyway – here’s what I had that day:

Two slice of french toast, made with brioche and served with warm maple syrup and butter. This came with two slices of ordinary toast and fluffy scrambled eggs. I also had freshly squeezed orange juice and a big pot of tea.

Mmm delicious. I am almost drooling just writing about it.  It is unsurprising that a menu which offers this as a breakfast choice has the tagline ‘Eat Heavy’.

You could probably have this breakfast in England but there is something special about breakfast in Manhattan. Whether it is the sight of busy New Yorkers rushing around the city sidewalks, the yellow taxi cabs snarling up the traffic flow or steamclouds rising from the subway – it all makes for a unique and unforgettable atmosphere.

Leave a comment